They were more than slaves. They had a story. Tune in to the February 1, 2017 episode of BlackProGen LIVE!

More than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers’ Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA). (1) Take a deep dive into these records to discover how they can help add depth to your ancestral story or break down insurmountable brick walls. Click here to watch the episode or view it below.

Panelists for this episode include:

  • Nicka Smith
  • True Lewis
  • Shelley Murphy
  • James Morgan, III
  • Angela Walton-Raji
  • Renate Yarborough Sanders
  • Toni Carrier
  • Ellen Fernandez-Sacco

We also had a great discussion during our Ask Mariah session regarding Anthony Wilkins of Grant Parish, Louisiana. Weigh in below with your comments!

We’re continuing our 2017 Black History Month Series next week, so be sure to tune in LIVE on Thursday, February 9, 2017 at 6pm PST/7pm MST/8pm CST/9pm EST for our next episode, BlackProGen LIVE at 2017 RootsTech. We’ll be following up with episodes every week during the month of February!

The Lowdown by BlackProGen – Unified feed of blog posts, podcasts, videos, radio shows and more produced by BlackProGen

Need help? Submit your case to Ask Mariah!

(1) “About This Collection – Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-1938.” The Library of Congress. N.p., n.d. Web. 30 Oct. 2016.

Comments

comments

Nicka Smith
Genealogist, Photographer at Who is Nicka Smith?
Nicka Smith is a professional photographer, speaker, and documentarian with more than 18 years of experience as a genealogist. She has extensive experience in African ancestored genealogy, reverse genealogy, and family reunion planning and execution. She is also an expert in genealogical research in the Northeastern Louisiana area, sharing genealogy with youth, documenting the ancestral journey, and employing the use of new technology in genealogy and family history research.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *