Stop putting your family members to sleep when you talk about your research. Learn creative ways to engage your family on the January 25, 2017 episode of BlackProGen LIVE!

We all have stories of speaking with someone about family history research where we got bored to death listening to them. No one wants to be that person and BlackProGen is here to help you make sure it’s never you. We also discussed a case of a lost great grandfather out of Grenada, MS, the latest slavery scandal at an Ivy League college and more. Check out our latest episode, Telling the Story Without Boring Your Family. Click here to watch the episode or view it below.

Panelists for this episode include:

  • Nicka Smith
  • True Lewis
  • Shelley Murphy
  • James Morgan, III
  • Angela Walton-Raji
  • Renate Yarborough Sanders
  • Teresa Vega
  • Ellen Fernandez-Sacco

We’ll be kicking off our 2017 Black History Month Series next week, so be sure to tune in LIVE on Wednesday, February 1, 2017 at 6pm PST/8pm CST/9pm EST for our next episode, Loud, Resounding Voices: The Slave Narratives. We’ll be following up with episodes every week during the month of February!

The Lowdown by BlackProGen – Unified feed of blog posts, podcasts, videos, radio shows and more produced by BlackProGen

Need help? Submit your case to Ask Mariah!

Comments

comments

Nicka Smith
Genealogist, Photographer at Who is Nicka Smith?
Nicka Smith is a professional photographer, speaker, and documentarian with more than 18 years of experience as a genealogist. She has extensive experience in African ancestored genealogy, reverse genealogy, and family reunion planning and execution. She is also an expert in genealogical research in the Northeastern Louisiana area, sharing genealogy with youth, documenting the ancestral journey, and employing the use of new technology in genealogy and family history research.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *