Crossing the Digital Divide: Making the Move from Online to Offline Genealogy Research

Join me on Monday, November 10, 2014 at 5pm PST/7pm CST/8pm EST for a Google+ Hangout about offline genealogy research!

Are you a seasoned pro at finding genealogy records online, but after years of doing so, you’ve hit a road block and can’t seem to get anywhere?

Or, perhaps you’re someone who is just starting out with family history research and you’ve heard there is “more out there” and you’re unsure where to go and how to find the “more.”

Join me as I share my experiences and best practices in the world of offline genealogy research.

04-10-10gDuring this session you’ll learn:

  • Why online genealogy is just a gateway, but not the promised land.

  • The types of records you can find offline that you’ll rarely find online.

  • How to structure your offline trip to get the most out of your visit by avoiding “bright shiny objects” and turning around in circles for hours (literally) LOL

  • How to save money, still get a bunch of stuff, and enjoy yourself all at the same time.

Let’s hear it!  What are some of the questions you have about offline research?  

Have you tried it and ended up empty handed?

Are you scared to venture out because you don’t know what you’re looking for?

Leave your comments below via Facebook or WordPress.  See you on November 10!

Facebook Comments

2 thoughts on “Crossing the Digital Divide: Making the Move from Online to Offline Genealogy Research”

  1. Pingback: Watch the #BlackProGen Offline Genealogy Research Google+ Hangout | who is nicka smith?

  2. Pingback: Watch the #BlackProGen Finding Your Roots Google+ Hangout (Eps. 1-5) - who is nicka smith?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.