In 1860, there were nearly 400,000 free people of color (FPOC) living in the U.S. Learn more about this often not talked about group and how you may FPOC in your own lineage. Tune in to the February 15, 2017 episode of BlackProGen LIVE!

In 1860, there were more than 4 million enslaved people of African descent living in the United States. At the same time, there were nearly 400,000 free people of color (FPOC) living in the U.S. Learn more about this often not talked about group and how you may FPOC in your own lineage. Click here to watch the episode or view it below.

Panelists for this episode include:

  • Nicka Smith
  • True Lewis
  • Shelley Murphy
  • James Morgan, III
  • Angela Walton-Raji
  • Renate Yarborough Sanders
  • Bernice Bennett
  • Ellen Fernandez-Sacco

We also had a great discussion during our Ask Mariah session regarding Leah Hamilton, a free woman of color. Weigh in below with your comments!

We’re finishing our 2017 Black History Month Series this week, so be sure to tune in LIVE on Wednesday, February 22, 2017 at 6pm PST/7pm MST/8pm CST/9pm EST for our next episode, Case Studies in DNA: Tips and Tricks . Melvin Collier and Shannon Christmas will be our special guests. Following this week, we’ll be heading back to Tuesday nights, so be sure to check out our schedule for upcoming episodes. Need reminders? Visit my YouTube page and click the “Set Reminder” button. 

The Lowdown by BlackProGen – Unified feed of blog posts, podcasts, videos, radio shows and more produced by BlackProGen

Need help? Submit your case to Ask Mariah!

Comments

comments

Nicka Smith
Genealogist, Photographer at Who is Nicka Smith?
Nicka Smith is a professional photographer, speaker, and documentarian with more than 18 years of experience as a genealogist. She has extensive experience in African ancestored genealogy, reverse genealogy, and family reunion planning and execution. She is also an expert in genealogical research in the Northeastern Louisiana area, sharing genealogy with youth, documenting the ancestral journey, and employing the use of new technology in genealogy and family history research.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *