Nicka Sewell-Smith

We are Facing History: Personal Stories, Identities, and our Connected Past

For the record, I know my name is misspelled. Told them. “Thursday, January 19, 2023 7:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM CT / 5:30 PM MT / 4:30 PM PT For nearly 50 years Facing History & Ourselves has invited teachers and their students to examine our shared history. By connecting the choices of the …

We are Facing History: Personal Stories, Identities, and our Connected Past Read More »

We Are Cherokee: Cherokee Freedmen and the Right to Citizenship Exhibit

I’m excited to share that my family is featured in a new exhibit at the Cherokee Nation National History Museum in Tahlequah, OK! The exhibit is titled “We Are Cherokee: Cherokee Freedmen and the Right to Citizenship” and opens this weekend during the Cherokee National Holiday. There will be an opening reception this weekend that …

We Are Cherokee: Cherokee Freedmen and the Right to Citizenship Exhibit Read More »

Scroll to Top